Gatsby Inspired Hair and Make Up

DSC_0237

Hi everyone ๐Ÿ™‚ Tonight, someone asked me on how to do a Gatsby Inspired Hair and Make Up. I don’t know how to take videos while I am doing my make-up yet but I am hopeful! someday I will eventually be able to do it (I’ve been meaning to do it hehe). I don’t have videos so please bare with me with my step by step instruction.

Make Up

DSC_0245

1. For the eyes, If you will watch the movie Great Gatsby, most of the eye shadows they use are dark. I decided to use silver and black eye shadow.

– Using a brown eye liner, create a line over the crease of your eyes. Smudge it to refine the line.

– Apply black eyeshadow over the crease extending to the outer corners of your eyes but leave the inner corner.

– Apply silver eyeshadow on the inner corner of the eyes.

– Blend the edges of the silver and black liner to make it look natural.

– Apply highlighter or white eye shadow over your brow bones.

– Apply white eye shadow on your water line (if you have Asian eyes like mine) and below it, apply black eye liner. I refrain from using black eye liner for my lower eye lids because it will make my eyes smaller. White eye liner will make my eyes look bigger.

2. Lips

DSC_0249

Since we have too much colors going on our eyes, you can choose a nude lip color but if you really want to look like the women from the Great Gatsby film, then choose darker colors like violet, chocolate, dark red lipstick.

Hair

DSC_0242

I curled the top of portion of my hair only and braided the lower parts and created a rolled bun out of it. The idea is to tuck it in so you will look like you have shorter hair. I got a black lace and wrapped it around my hair. I also found a feather earring and placed it at the side of my head. Hair ornaments during that time are usually feathers, gems, and headbands.

Outfit

DSC_0241

I don’t have any gown so I decided to wear a black top and a black mullet skirt. I found a feathery gloves (hahaha it doesn’t have a pair, for picture taking’s sake, I tried to cover my other hand).

That’s it ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you like it and I promise that next time I will have a video tutorial.

xoxo

signature

Leave a Reply

