Reprimand and Confront: Easier Said Than Done

Most people say that I am too kind because it’s very seldom that I reprimand or confront someone, but I don’t agree with them. I can consider myself as a coward who is afraid of giving feedback and reprimanding subordinates because I fear that others might lose their confidence if ever I will tell something bad about their work.

I have worked for a lot of clients in the internet. I am an internet marketer and SEO analyst that’s why I talk to a lot of people everyday. I’m good in saying positive things but when it comes to negative feedback, I would rather take the blow from the clients than confront my subordinates.

Why am I so afraid?

I have experience every kind of insult as a newbie in the internet marketing arena. I have worked with different people and they have different attitude. I hate to make others feel the same way.

On Finding Courage

Sometimes I ask, “Do I have the right to blame my team players if ever they fail?” The clear answer is “NO” I don’t give negative feedback that’s why most of them thought it’s just okay. Sometimes I try to “jokingly” reprimand them but who will take it seriously if I am talking as if IT’S JUST OKAY?

These past few days, I have been thinking a lot. I should stand up or else, time will come – we are going to lose our projects. Maybe, all people deserve to hear a negative feedback. Negative feedback is like a bitter medicine. Even if it tastes so bad,  you just have to take it because it will cure you and make you feel better.

The Culprit

In the end, I can say that the culprit is me. I’ve been reluctant in saying what’s on my mind. Most of the time, I fix their jobs instead of letting them do it. How will they know that it’s not the right thing to do when I seldom point out the mistakes?

The Lesson

Don’t say “It’s okay when it’s not”.Don’t be the reason why other people won’t grow.Stop being a Corporate Door Mat.

I have grown to become a good marketer because of experience and “YES” because of negative feedback. Today, I promise to have courage to say what’s on my mind 🙂

XXXXX

signature

2 thoughts on “Reprimand and Confront: Easier Said Than Done

  1. Just stumbled on your blog and am highly impressed! This article truly spoke to me! This topic is one I struggle with as well, I tend to let others slide by because I simply don’t want to be rude in telling them they were wrong, instead doing it for myself. You are right this is a doormat trait and I don’t want to continue to waste time and stress on others problems, thank you for this! Great post! I will definitely be checking back often!

Leave a Reply

